E. W. Savi

(Ethel Winifred Savi)

In This Collection

Other Works by E. W. Savi (1865-1954)

  • The Reproof of Chance. London: Digby Long, 1910.
  • A Blind Alley. London: Digby Long, 1911.
  • A Daughter-in-law. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1913.
  • Baba and the Black Sheep. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1914.
  • Sinners All. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1915.
  • Mistress of Herself. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1918.
  • When the Blood Burns. London: Putnam’s, 1920.
  • The Devil Drives. London: Putnam’s, 1921.
  • Mock Majesty. London: Putnam’s, 1923.
  • Neither Fish nor Flesh. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1924.
  • A Prince of Lovers. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1925.
  • Sackcloth and Ashes. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1925.
  • The Acid Test. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1926.
  • Vagrant Love. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1927.
  • White Lies. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1927.
  • Dog in the Manger. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1928.
  • A Forlorn Hope. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1928.
  • The Great Gamble. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1928.
  • On Trust. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1928.
  • Back o’ Beyond. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • The Fatalist. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • Daggers Drawn. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • A fool’s game. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • The Saving of a Scandal. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • The Splendid Outcaste. New York: Curtiss, 1929.
  • The Tree of Knowledge. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1929.
  • The Door Between. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1930.
  • God Forsaken. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1930.
  • By Torchlight. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1931.
  • In Desperation. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1931.
  • Blunder. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1932.
  • Mixed Cargo: Stories of Indian and English Romance, Adventure, and Majesty. London: Wright and Brown, 1932.
  • On the Knees of the Gods. London: Hutchinson, 1932.
  • At Close Quarters. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1933.
  • Hidden Flames. London: G. Howard Watts, 1933.
  • Prisoners of Necessity. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1933.
  • Passionate Problem. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1934.
  • Insolence of Youth. London: Hutchinson, 1935.
  • The Tyranny of Freedom. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1935.
  • Glamorous East. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1936.
  • The Riddle of the Hill. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1936.
  • The Soothsayer. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1937.
  • Ill-gotten Gains. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1938.
  • Beloved Autocrat. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1938.
  • Birds of Passage. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1939.
  • Money and Power. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1940.
  • Devil’s Playground. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1941.
  • Lords of Creation. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1945.
  • The Fragrance Lingers. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1947.
  • The Human Heart. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1948.
  • The Unattainable. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1948.
  • Labelled Dangerous. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1950.
  • Unvarnished Truth. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1951.
  • House Party. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1952.
  • Price of Loyalty. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1953.
  • The Troublemaker. London: Hutchinson, 1953.
  • The Devil’s Carpet: an Anglo-Indian Romance. London: Hurst and Blackett, 1954.



Mrs. J. A. H. Savi, who wrote a great number of novels under the name of Ethel Savi, died yesterday in hospital in London at the age of 88.

She was Ethel Winifred Bryning, and she was born in Calcutta in 1865, of British and American parents. At the age of 18 she married Mr. John Angelo Henry Savi, who died some years ago. There were two sons and two daughters of the marriage. The first 12 years of her married life were spent in Bengal, at Udhua Nullah on the Ganges, where she studied Indian life with a keen and observant eye and laid the foundations for much of her subsequent work in fiction. While in India she contributed many articles and short stories for English and Indian journals, and in 1909 she retired to England to devote herself to the writing of long novels. Her first novel, The Reproof of Chance, was published in 1910, and thereafter she wrote more than 100 others, many of them based on her wide knowledge of Indian life and ways. These, although generally light in content, showed her skill in handling a plot and the fluent facility of her pen. Her latest novel, The Devil’s Garden. was published only a few months ago.

(“Mrs. J. A. H. Savi.” The Times, 7 Oct. 1954, p. 11.)

⁎  ⁎  ⁎

Savi, Ethel Winifred (Bryning), 1865-1954, novelist and autobiographer. B. in Calcutta, da. of Eliza Mary (Tilden) and ship’s officer John Goode B., she was privately educ. In 1884 she m. John Angelo S., a planter and later colliery manager, and lived in rural Bengal. She had four children, and wrote short stories for Indian and English journals. In 1909 her husband died en route for England, where she settled, with one trip to India, 1928. Her many novels, chiefly set in Bengal, handle in romantic, popular style the interaction of Eastern and Western ways of life, and the efforts of young women in adverse circumstances to achieve financial independence from fathers and husbands and to cope with the duty of supporting others. In Baba and the Black Sheep, 1914, the heroine’s father’s death leaves her to run the plantation and establish protective authority over the admiring locals. The ‘advanced’ and progressive heroine of Mistress of Herself, 1918 (contrasted with a conventional, fashionable sister), was found ‘too aggressive’ by a reviewer. A Flat in Town, 1934, presents two girls trying to earn a living independent of their parents. The Riddle of the Hill, 1936, and The Way Thereof, 1939, deal with modern India and the rapid change in traditional values and habits. The House Party, 1952, is one of several works which contrast India during and after the Raj. My Own Story, 1947, is a chatty, detailed autobiography.

(The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present. New Haven: Yale UP. pp. 949-50.)